Election 2022: Find out who filed for St. Michael’s area offices


ST. MICHAEL, MN — The ballots in St. Michael will include contested races for several statewide offices as well as the United States House of Representatives and the Minnesota Legislature.

All candidates who want to appear on primary and electoral ballots later this year were required to file signatures by Tuesday with the office of the Minnesota secretary of state.

The Aug. 9 primary will feature multiple statewide races, although other races in the St. Michael area will not require a primary, according to deposits.

governor’s race
Gov. Tim Walz is seeking re-election alongside Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan and will face competition for the Democratic-Farmer-Worker Party nomination in the primary from Ole Savior and Julia M. Parker, who also ran filed as DFL candidates for these offices.

Joyce Lacey and Kent Edwards have asked to run together, while Bob “Again” Carney Jr. has named Captain Jack Sparrow as running mate, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office.

Steve Patterson and Matt Huff are running for the Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis party nomination for governor against Darrell Paulsen and Ed Engelmann, while James McCaskel and David Sandbeck face competition from Chris Wright and LC Lawrence Converse for the nomination for governor. Legal Marijuana Now party.

Minnesota Executive Offices
Minnesota’s incumbent secretary of state faces a primary challenge from Steve Carlson for the DFL nomination in his re-election race, while Kim Crockett and Erik van Mechelen will face off on Aug. 9 for the Republican Party nomination.

St. Michael Senior Wins College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarship

Bill Dahn is challenging incumbent Attorney General Keith Ellison in the DFL primary on August 9, and Jim Schultz, Doug Wardlow and Sharon Anderson have filed for the post in the Republican primary election.

Schultz won the Republican Party’s endorsement last month, but faces a challenge from Wardlow – general counsel for MyPillow and friend of its founder, Mike Lindell – who reneged on his promise not to run in the primary if he did. he was not getting approval.

United States House of Representatives
There will be no primary elections in the race to represent Minnesota’s sixth congressional district, which includes St. Michael.

Former councilman dies in golf cart accident in Independence

Incumbent Rep. Tom Emmer was the only Republican candidate to file signatures to appear on the Nov. 8 ballots, while Jeanne Hendricks was the only DFL candidate to file, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office.

Minnesota Legislature
There will also be no primary elections in the St. Michael area races for seats in the Minnesota House of Representatives and Senate.

Republican Walter Hudson will face DFL candidate Sonja Buckmeier in the Nov. 8 election in the race to represent Minnesota House District 30A, which includes St. Michael after redistricting was completed earlier this year.

Invasive zebra mussels discovered in Wright County lake: officials

Republican State Rep. Eric Lucero, who currently represents St. Michael as part of House District 30B, is seeking to make the move to the Minnesota Senate. Lucero is scheduled to face DFL candidate Diane Nguyen on Nov. 8 in the race for Minnesota Senate District 30.


Comments are closed.