Oldham County to stop driver’s licenses; services transferred to regional offices


LOUISVILLE, Ky. (WAVE) – Drivers in Oldham County will no longer be able to issue licenses and renewals to their local circuit court clerk at the end of March.

Beginning March 28, drivers will need to visit a regional office of the Kentucky Cabinet of Transportation for licensing services.

Drivers can book appointments online at one of Kentucky’s 22 regional offices to apply for or renew a driver’s license. Walk-in walk-ins are also available at some locations.

“This is a new era of driver licensing in Kentucky,” Gov. Andy Beshear said in a statement. “We are using technology to offer more service options than ever before, such as online appointment booking, online license renewal and mail-in renewal. After many years of issuing driver’s licenses, circuit court clerks will be able to focus solely on court cases, and driver’s licenses will be enforced in new regional offices whose sole activity is licensing.

Oldham County is one of six counties transferring licensing services to regional KYTC offices in March, including Calloway, Clark, Marshall, Mercer and Union counties.

Full licensing transition at KYTC regional offices will be completed statewide by the end of June.

WAVE – Louisville and southern Indiana NBC affiliate. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram @wave3news.(VAGUE)

Copyright 2022 WAVE. All rights reserved.


Comments are closed.